PHS students celebrate year-end awards

PINEDALE – Pinedale High School recognized outstanding athletes and scholars at its annual year-end awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 24.

PHS science teacher Luke Myszewski introduced the top five academically performing seniors, based on GPA and ACT scores. Allison Gregory was named valedictorian and Sabrina Donaldson salutatorian for the Class of 2022.

Cora Murphy, Alena Mika and Katie LaBuda also achieved spots in the top five.

“They’ve been our rock stars,” Myzsewski said. “If they were a varsity team, they are our starting five.”

Hannah McKinney, counselor at PHS, announced Donaldson and Gregory as recipients of the University of Wyoming Trustees’ Scholars Award, granted to “100 outstanding seniors from across Wyoming.” The average GPA for recipients in 2022 was 3.95 and the average ACT score 32, said McKinney.

Senior Kirsten Klaren earned the Daniels Scholarship Program Award, a four-year scholarship granted to students in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming. The award may be used at any accredited college or university, McKinney said.

The Lady Wrangler volleyball team received the Highest GPA Award, maintaining a 3.81 cumulative GPA.

PHS alumni Gatlin Egle presented senior Roxanne Rogers with the Olympic Torch Award. The accolade goes to a student-athlete who “displays the Olympic ideals in their heart,” including self-motivation, dedication, determination and a desire to improve, Egle said.

Keegan Gehlhausen, also a PHS alumni, recognized Rogers as Female Athlete of the Year and senior Colton Gehlhausen as Male Athlete of the Year. Criteria for the award included GPA, National Honor Society membership, varsity letters, All-Conference and All-State awards and State Championships, Keegan Gehlhausen said.

Senior Cody Phelps and sophomore Katyana Dexter were honored for earning State Championships in wrestling and track, respectively. Dexter made Pinedale sports history as the first athlete to earn a State Championship in both the discus and shot put. Phelps is the first Pinedale athlete to earn four consecutive State Championships.

All-State athletes also received the spotlight. They included Konner Ziegler, football, Rogers, volleyball and girls’ basketball, Colton Gehlhausen, wrestling, Jake Hammer, wrestling, Wyatt Madole, wrestling, Phelps, wrestling, Elyn Bowers, girls’ basketball, and Dexter, track.

PHS assistant principal and activities director Jake Rich honored custodian Lee Bryant for keeping the gyms “spotless” during the sports season.

“I’m so thankful for all (Bryant’s) dedication to Pinedale sports and youth in this community,” Rich said.

Rich also announced head volleyball coach Tamara Currah as PHS Coach of the Year. In addition to coaching during the fall, Currah spearheaded a program for PHS female athletes to work out in the morning and worked with the Pinedale Aquatic Center to prepare youth for middle and high school volleyball.

PHS Principal Brian Brisko recognized retiring woods and vocational agriculture teacher Larry Proud and English teacher Jasper Warembourg.

“I am very fortunate to have spent time with these two gentlemen,” Brisko said. “They deserve the utmost respect for the tremendous amount of time they have served to make our school better.”

PHS P.E. and health teacher Jennifer Wilkinson presented departmental academic awards. Each department nominates three students and choses one for the Student of the Year Award “based off their hard work, determination, willingness to grow and their overall achievement,” said Wilkinson.

The following students received the Student of the Year Award: Gregory, art, Kelsey Cooper, English, Donaldson, math, Tim Hosler, music, KaLee Bohnet, P.E. and health, Karlee Pearson, peer mentor program, Isabella Heath, science, Wyatt Griffin, social studies, and Seren Noble, Spanish.

The Vocational Student of the Year Award went to the State FFA Champion horse judging team – Morgan Rouge, Zane Hayward, Gavin Masters and Paiyzli Baker.

Griffin achieved the Silver Medal Congressional Award.