Outstanding athletes and coaches honored


Joy Ufford photos

PINEDALE – Pinedale High School (PHS) held its annual academic and athletic awards ceremony on Monday, May 22, at the Sheppard Auditorium.

Coaches and administrators recognized talented Lady Wrangler and Wrangler athletes for their achievements on and off the court or field.

Senior Sara Kunard captured the PHS Athlete of the Year Award for the Lady Wranglers. Fellow senior Ethan Jensen received the PHS Athlete of the Year Award for the Wranglers.

PHS alumnus Roxanne Rogers presented senior Rhonda Auradou with the annual Olympic Torch Award.

The PHS Nordic ski team, coached by Holly Thayne, snagged the Highest GPA Award for averaging a 3.73 GPA. Team members included Bryn Arne, Alyce Hayward, Trayven Rouge, Kaden Bingham, Marley Lance, Olivia Tolson, Dylan Covert and Fisher Mills.

Head Lady Wranglers’ basketball coach Trent Bowers received the PHS Coach of the Year Award.

In addition celebrating All-State honorees and state champions, PHS administrators bestowed the Iron Wrangler Award to athletes participating in three sports over the course of the 2022-2023 academic year. Recipients included:

  • Freshmen: Ace Baker, Bridger Bennett, Kaden Bingham, Megan Boulter, Brayson Boyer, Carter Grant, Cale Dauwen, Sergio Duarte Villa, Trace Fildey, Candice Goodrich, Dune Mecartney, Fisher Mills, Erin Murphy, Decker Normington, Claire Thonhoff, Haven Whitley and Callie Windbigler.
  • Sophomores: Madison Antonino, Reuben Allen, Joseph Bain, Cora Koci, Mae McGuire, Ian Obod and Isabelle Rigo.
  • Juniors: Trista Covill, Austin Green, Wyatt Griffin, Brody Hamby, Bodie Jensen, Dustin Larsen, Ryley Lea and Ana Mika.
  • Seniors: Luke Gray, Morgan Grossman and Ethan Jensen.