District judge short-list posted

On behalf of the Judicial Nominating Commission, Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Kate M. Fox, who serves as chairman, announced Monday that it has completed its consideration of all who have expressed interest in the position of District Court judge in the 9th Judicial District for Teton County.

9th District Court Judge Timothy C. Day will be retiring as of Jan. 18, 2022.

Pursuant to Article 5, § 4 of the Wyoming Constitution, the Judicial Nominating Commission submitted three nominees for the position to Gov. Mark Gordon for his consideration. Those nominees, listed in alphabetical order, are Melissa Owens, Leah Schwartz and Erin Weisman.

Gov. Gordon has 30 days to appoint one of these three nominees to serve as the new District Court judge. Current members of the Judicial Nominating Commission are Chief Justice Fox, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Anna Reeves Olson of Casper, Katherine Strike of Lander and Devon O’Connell of Laramie and three non-lawyers appointed by the governor: Gudrid Espenscheid of Big Piney, Paul Scherbel of Afton and Dan Kirkbride of Chugwater.